Christian Long

Nellie McKay: Sings “The Dog Song”

In TED Talks on April 11, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Reflection by LINDSAY R.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Nellie McKay: Sings “The Dog Song”

In the video Nellie McKay sings “The Dog Song”, Nellie McKay sings and pants in this quirky and upbeat song that she wrote.

The first time I listened to this song it was a little weird when the panting started but the rest of the sound was very amusing to listen to. Nellie McKay has a very nice voice and good piano skills that made me have to listen to this song again. I have listened to this song so many times that I can sing it now. This song was so fun to listen to that I have shown many people this video and they liked listening to it also.

Although this is one of the shortest videos on TED, I think that this video shows how people can get their message out in various ways, even singing.

At first I wondered why this video was on TED. It wasn’t until two days after I had first watched the video that I had realized the true message of the song and why it was on TED. The message was that we need to treat dogs right and having a companion makes life happier. This song is about going to adopt a dog from the pound instead of being sad and drinking your problems away because your alone. She tries to show how dogs can make everyone happy just walking their dog. She shows this by lines like, “And I said, “Lord, I’m happy, ’cause I’m just a’walking my dog.” She sings on TED to get her points across to her audience, like in the video Nellie McKay sing with sparkling humor, she sings to show her opinion on feminism.

Nellie McKay is also an animal rights activist and this is her song to show what she thinks of treating dogs. I agree with her message in this song and I also believe in saving dogs from the pound. There are many dogs that are treated badly and this needs to stop. You need to love your dog like how Nellie McKay describes in her song.

I would definitely recommend this song to anyone who loves dogs and music. If you like her way of showing her opinions or like her music than I would recommend watching her videos Nellie McKay sings with sparkling humor and Nellie McKay sings “Clonie.” Nellie McKay likes to write songs about what is going on in the world, like cloning, and tell her opinions on them.

Leave a Reply

