Christian Long

Pilobolus: Perform “Symbiosis”

In TED Talks on April 11, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Reflection by ERIN M.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Pilobolus:  Perform “Symbiosis”

The incredible performance by Pilobolus called “Symbiosis” caught me dumbfounded the first time I watched this video.

I honestly did not know what to make of it. I thought to myself; how did this group make it to TED?

I truly did not appreciate their magnificent performance. The problem was that it was not normal.

However, normal in my definition is what is seen all the time. Until I sat down and watched the video for a second time, I did not begin to understand why their performance was so incredible. It was incredible because it was different. The second time, I watched it I began to notice all the things that they did that one might think impossible.

The beauty and grace of their bodies unified them as one which created a flowing motion like a river. Not that I truly understand what they were trying to portray, but from what I noticed their performance was filled with humor, sadness, and relationship. I am sure that many people have different opinions on what exactly is happening. That is just a component that makes their performance enjoyable. One major component of their performance was the weightless movements that they filled the stage with. It was like they were defying the laws of gravity. Pilobolus preformed one of the most amazing dances I have ever seen.

One unique thing about their dance is the mindset that it puts you in.

It is almost unworldly. Watching their dance made me forget why I was watching it and instead it made me feel like I was in a place of peace. Their dance can be described as art. Art brings out emotions we sometimes cannot describe. Everyone will feel differently about it and everyone will see a different story. The inspiration that their type of art brings to us will help us to achieve our goals. They weren’t afraid to take unbelievable risks so we should not be either. Pilobolus puts a lot of effort into their performances. They work hard to inspire and entertain their audiences.

I know now that they deserve appreciation and it would be anyone’s worthwhile to see their performance.

Leave a Reply

