Christian Long

Vusi Mahlasela: Sings “Woza”

In TED Talks on April 12, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Reflection by WEI-CHEN L.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Vusi Mahlasela:  Sings “Woza”

The first musical instrument came out from the human voice which made the following instrument. A good song comes from human soul do not need to hear, but the feeling. This song “Woza” has most of the lyrics I don’t understand, but I can feel it in my soul. I like how Mr. Mahlasela sing this song for the peace and the future for people.

Woza has the happiness came from the human soul, and the song wants everyone to have one. I really like this song that I feel it; it’s like listening to a musical play.

When I listen to Woza, I would like to move my body to feel the song. I knew the song was about the future for human because there was a part saying about the peace in English, so i guess the song is all bout that. A good song don’t matter with the language, but the tempo would lead the people get in the music. I don’t know the language Mr. Mahlasela was singing in most of the song, but I can feel it in my heart.

This is my first traditional African music I have heard, and I love it.

Mr. Mahlasela came from South African, as he was young, there was a war going on, and he wanted the peace like everyone else. He had the talent made the people follow him in the music to be peace to everyone. He wrote all the lyrics by himself and even I don’t know the language I can tell it’s really touch the inside of the human to be peace and kind to each other.

My soul is now full of the song and the voice came from the person who wants the world to be peace.

Leave a Reply

