Christian Long

Sxip Shirey: At the Breathing Place

In TED Talks on April 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Reflection by ABBIE P.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Sxip Shirey:  At the Breathing Place

To me, music is more than just something to be listened to. Like most forms of art, it’s an escape, it tells a story, takes you to an entirely new world if you truly listen to it rather than just hearing it. Sxip Shirey’s performance may sound like a bunch of breathing to some people,…

…but, if you choose to listen with an open mind and heart, it takes you to a different place.

The first time I watched this video, I was a little dissapointed, having expected something much more from the title ‘Breathes Music & Passion,’ but a second view brought up something entirely different.

I closed my eyes and listened.

The breathing that I had originally found musically repulsive was now the thing that connected me to this world that Sxip was creating. It’s something that every living being can plug in to.

Sxip Shirey’s compositions may not be conventional, but I believe them to be what music is truly about. By definition, music is ‘an art of sound in time that expresses ideas and emotions in significant forms through the elements of rhythm, melody, harmony, and colour.’ Many people may write off what Sxip does because it’s not what we’re used to musically. Sxip Shirey’s compositions sound nothing like that of Tchaikovsky, The Beatles, Taylor Swift, or any other worldly famous musician, but that doesn’t mean that it’s any less musical. His breath is the rhythm that pulls you through the door.  His voice isn’t like any trained vocalists’ I have ever heard, but every note made me feel something different.

Sxip Shirey literally ‘Breathes Music & Passion,’ every sound manipulates an emotion. His performance is more musical than that of the rapper who gets famous for telling us what kind of girl he likes, or the popstar who tells the same story of heartbreak on his or her album three or more times. The message Sxip Shirey spreads is upto interpretation, which is another thing that may set people off of his music. Despite the fact that his performance lacked lyrics, Sxip shows more passion in his music than a majority of famous artists today…

which, in my eyes, is what makes music not only a sound, but something of substance.

  1. Thank you so much. I am honored by your comments.

    • Your music is by far some of the most meaningful I’ve ever listened to, and I’m looking forward to hearing more of your compositions in the future. True musicians are scarce in this day and age, so coming across your video was a very rewarding experience for me. I’m very flattered by your gratitude for that reason alone, and by the fact that someone as talented as yourself would even bother to read what I have to say.

      As an aspiring musician, I found your work inspirational. Following my response, I wrote one of the best songs I’ve written in a long time (by my own opinion, at least, which I’ve learned to be extremely warped.) The fact that listening to a few songs in a style completely different from my own shocks and amazes me, but it also gives me hope to be as successful of a musician as you one day, and that a work of my own inspires someone to do something fantastic.

  2. I work hard and I appreciate when people get it. I am glad you are writing music and you where inspired. The best response to art is more art.

Leave a Reply

