Christian Long

Caroline Lavelle: Casts a Spell on Cello

In TED Talks on April 19, 2010 at 10:27 am

Reflection by KIERSTON R.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Caroline Lavelle:  Casts a Spell on Cello

This this intriguing title is one that draws people in and makes the want to watch. They will not be disappointed if they watch this video, it is very compelling. Ms. Lavelle is not one to disappoint an audience.

Ms. Lavelle is a talented and intense performer that has been wowing audiences for quite some time now. She has also written and produced 3 albums that have been huge successes. Ms. Lavelle is very deep and is able to connect with her audience in a very unique way. I believe that this is part of the reason she is so popular. I believe that people like Ms. Lavelle could change the future of music through there intensity, popularity and, unique sound.

The first time I watched this ‘talk’ I had a difficult time connecting with it. However the more I found out about Ms. Lavelle and the more I listened to some of her other music the more I came to appreciate her as an artist. I also began to see the emotion and passion behind her music. After taking this new knowledge in to consideration I watched the performance again.

The second time I watched her performance was a completely different experience. I was really able to see the emotion and passion and intensity that she puts in to her music. I was also able to make a connection to the music and relate it to how I feel.

I believe that what Ms. Lavelle does is something that more people should do and that is, simply express what you are feeling. I see Ms. Lavelle not only as a great artist with a great amount of talent but also a poet and a word artist who is not afraid to let her feelings out.

Leave a Reply

