Christian Long

Allison Hunt: Gets a New Hip

In TED Talks on April 21, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Reflection by MITCHELL E.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Allison Hunt:  Gets a New Hip

This video just goes to show what kindness gets you, which in this case is a “new” hip.

Allison Hunt, unlike others, made her way to the top of the list by using kindness and persistance. I find it inspiring. If you need something in the world, you go and take it. Do not wait around for it, step in and do what it takes to get your “new” hip. Many people have this conflict, but only a few really try for what they want. Most people will keep to themselves or wait around when or if it ever happens.

Hip replacement sounds very painful. If it were me that had to get my hip replaced, I would run away from the surgery, not find ways to go and get it taken care of. Unlike Allison Hunt, instead of volunteering to make my way to the top, I would volunteer as long as I did NOT have to have the surgery. Allison Hunt is very brave and inspires me, as well as many more people I am sure.

I am glad to hear you worked for what you wanted and needed! I hope this makes others want to go get what they want as well. It hurts me just thinking about how painful it would be to go 18 months with your hip always hurting. Makes me more greatful for the things I have.

I hope your new hip is working wonders for you Allison!

  1. Just two points
    1. If you made your way to the front of the queue you forced everyone else on that queue to wait just that little bit longer
    2. Just because you have free health care doesn’t mean you can’t take out insurance and go private.

Leave a Reply

