Christian Long

Emily Levine: Theory of Everything

In TED Talks on April 21, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Reflection by SCOTT M.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Emily Levine:  Theory of Everything

Emily Levine is a remarkable woman.

Besides her humorous air, and her cheery attitude, she still displays a very different look out upon life. She’s humorous in the fact that she makes fun of society but she also shows us things about ourselves that we wish we didn’t know. Or better yet they are probably things that saved us.

She is very good at making the everyday connections we need to know, like how when we say “I” we are only talking about our head, not the rest our body. It’s like they are almost two separate organisms.

Actually, I’m going to be honest, I don’t really know what Emily Levine is talking about. Her idea’s are very scattered and I’m pretty sure I’ve watched the video multiple times and I don’t understand what kind of conclusion she is reaching. Don’t get me wrong, she is very funny and I like her, but this, to me, is just a stand-up comedy opportunity. I can’t really make a definite conclusion from this video except that I don’t really know what she’s getting at. This is a good choice for a talk, if you want a good laugh, but I really don’t know what to write about it.

She gives us examples of human rationality in newspaper ads and books but it’s almost like Jay Leno’s “In the News” segment where he shows different funny newspaper ads. She doesn’t explain her reasoning or tell her thought process about anything, rather just little stories from her past experiences.

I don’t know if it’s just me or what but I can’t draw any conclusions with anything. It’s a good video, just not very well organized on the speaker’s part.

Maybe a few more views will show me the point that she’s trying to get across.

Leave a Reply

