Christian Long

Stew: Says “Black Men Ski”

In TED Talks on April 26, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Reflection by DANIELLA W.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Stew:  Says “Black Men Ski”

I want to start by saying I totally respect his message in this video.

I think making people think about the stereotypes is wonderful. He did a really awesome job on taking a really cliché thing such as race and turning it into something interesting to listen about.

I just wish his point was a little clearer in the song.

I had to watch it at least 3 times and read the transcript to truly understand what the point was. To me it just kind of seemed like catchy lines about the stereotypes on race, nothing more. I didn’t really get into the deeper meaning until I watched and read it over and over. I think it would have been better understood if he talked in the beginning on why he did the song and what his hopes were for the song. I like the idea and main points of the song I just don’t like the way he presented it.

With presenting these stereotypes of black people I think he is just pulling apart the differences in races and cultural differences instead of shinning the light on how we are the same. A lot of times especially in the black community we constantly say and stick to things that make us different than other races. Instead of uniting like we should. By sticking to these differences, we pull apart the black community in itself; from skin tones to location and that isn’t helpful or good for anyone. This just gives us reason to continue to separate instead of coming together as a nation, as a people. With that point, people either loved or hated the video.

At the end of the day every artist is different and certain music is kind to some ears and not so much to others. Even though I didn’t agree totally with this song doesn’t mean I think it’s bad. It’s extremely hard to come up with creative ways to express basic concepts, such as love, race, (ect.) so for him to write such a catchy song on this shows how creative he really is.

Leave a Reply

