Christian Long

Yossi Vardi: Fights Local Warming

In TED Talks on April 26, 2010 at 2:37 pm

Reflection by BRAYDEN F.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Yossi Vardi:  Fights Local Warming

At first the title threw me off.

I thought I was going to be listening about “Global Warming” and significant raises of temperatures within the last century or so. This however was not the case.

Yossi Vardi gave a presentation on “Local Warming”, almost a parody of the new big topic of Global Warming. Yossi talks about how blogging with a laptop can affect posture, genes, and may even bring you down to an all time low with a trouser fashion statement. What really got me laughing is how he asked if “geeks will become an endangered species”. This I thought was sort of a oxymoron because “geeks” are really the ones who invented the laptops.

Note:  Now I did think the video he presented was maybe a little bit inappropriate. Although it definately got his point across, I think he could of used something better.

After watching this a few times, it still was unclear as to what he was trying to accomplish to communicate to the TED audience and viewers around the world. I think it was about the heat of the laptop effecting your body temperature.

Was Yossi trying to tell us to not use laptops?

No, I think he was trying to tell us that laptops can be harmful if not used properly in a comical way.

Technology has increased tremendously in the past twenty years and I am looking for to Yossi talking about the new upcoming inventions in the future.

So if you have six minutes to spare, I encourage you to sit back, relax, and have a few laughs with Yossi.

Leave a Reply

