Christian Long

Raul Midon: Plays “Tembererana”

In TED Talks on April 29, 2010 at 8:54 am

Reflection by PARYSE W.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Raul Midon:  Plays “Tembererana”

My first reaction hearing Raul sing was wow!

He has a wonderful voice and is amazing at playing the guitar. I really enjoyed this video the most out of the ones I have been assigned.

Raul is blind and he was always told he could never sing or be a performer but he still kept trying and now he is very successful. He was a back up vocalist for Christina Aguilara, Julio Iglesias, Shakira, and Jennifer Lopez. Also he has sang with Jason Mraz, his genre is definatly jazz, or R&B. He reminds me a lot of Ray Charles. The first song he sings in the video is wonderful. It is the first time he had sang it and he did not mess up once.

The second song he sings is called Tembererana.  It is more of a slow song with a little up beat towards the chorus. I cannot even imagine being a blind performer, I would be to scared to do something like this. Raul is great, his voice just brings you into the song. In the song Tembererana, more towards the end, it sounds like it would be played on a beach.

Raul really should inspire people who are blind to play something so perfect sounding. He shows that you can do anything if you put your mind to it. If I were blind I would probably find it impossible to sing or play an instrument. People should branch out like he did even if you are blind! I want to tell people about this video and this performer because I really think many people would like him if he were more popular and on the charts for itunes.

If you read this blog, I really hope you will go research Raul and enjoy his music as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

