Christian Long

Imogen Heap: Plays “Wait It Out”

In TED Talks on May 4, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Reflection by MITCHELL E.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Imogen Heap:  Plays “Wait It Out”

The first time I listened to her playing, I noticed myself starting to feel sad. I enjoyed listening to her play, the music was soothing. However, more and more throughout the song I kept relating events that have happened to me to her song. I do not know what she went through, but I am sure everyone can relate to her song. Not only the song, but the way she sings the song. You can hear the hint of sadness in her voice.

I decided to listen for a second time, but mostly to the lyrics. I began to realize there was a much deeper meaning to the song than I thought. I thought her singing and playing was amazing, but yet iIstill got the feeling of sadness. I had a weird feeling of wanting to listen to her play over and over again, but every time a different memory of mine would pop into my head and I would start day dreaming about it.

The third time I watched her sing, her intensity that she put into singing and playing really let you know she was passionate about this song. Something really important must have happened to her, as you can tell from the way her emotions let out during the song.

Imogen Heap’s singing and playing really opened my eyes. She did a fantastic job.

Leave a Reply

