Christian Long

Keith Bellows: The Camel’s Hump

In TED Talks on May 4, 2010 at 5:17 am

Reflection by ABBIE P.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Keith Bellows:  The Camel’s Hump

In all honesty, I didn’t know what to expect out of this video.

To me, a camel is a camel…it has a hump, sometimes more than one. They live in the desert and can go without water for long periods of time, which is definitely more remarkable than it sounds. It’s still not all that interesting to the average teenager. This presentation was informative, but I feel like it lacked substance. A lot of what Bellows had to say was common knowledge.

I don’t mean to sound rude, but I do agree with most of the comments posted on the video. Why would he even bother?

What I like about most TED talks is that they present ideas, the speaker opens your eyes to something that is worth thinking about. Whereas, this felt more like someone reading an outline on camels out loud to me. Everything was presented in a sort of jumpy manner. Although there were some interesting facts presented, I don’t see myself recommending this video to anyone in the near future. Not because it was incorrect, or because it didn’t teach me anything, but because it’s not memorable. I don’t feel as if my time was wasted by watching this video, but I do feel like I could have used it more wisely.

The idea behind Bellows’ presentation was solid, but based on facts and lacked a “remarkable” quality. The information given was mostly common knowledge, and though it outlined how significant a camel really is, was rather uninteresting. This video left me unaffected, and a little bored, in all honesty.

Leave a Reply

