Christian Long

Robert Thurman: Expanding Your Circle of Compassion

In TED Talks on May 5, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Reflection by MATT S.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Robert Thurman:  Expanding Your Circle of Compassion

Compassion is some people’s best friend. For the Dalai Lama it is. It helps him when he is overwhelmed with grief and despair. Compassion helps him turn away from the feeling of his suffering as the most valuable.

I believe that everyone needs compassion to help them cope with the environment surrounding them, for example a social and personal environment. Right now for me with my situation that I’m in, I need a lot of compassion or an exit from what is going on in my life at this moment. The only way I got better and able to not think about the situation was from the compassion my friends and family have given me. They have been a really big help in me forgetting what is going on at home.

An aspect that Mr. Robert Thurman talks about is something called mother recognition. He says it’s the thinking of every being as familiar or as family. Compassion is just that to me. I feel like I have more than one family because they all have been there for me and my mom. One of those families is Kolby’s family and another is Alex S’s family. They both have been so nice and helpful to my mother and I. Another family that has been great to us is Andrew R. and his family. I don’t feel like they’re friends to me anymore but a family member, like a brother and uncle. I feel this way towards them because of all the compassion they have shown me and given me. And I want to thank them for all they’ve done.

Great things and people come together all because of compassion.

Leave a Reply

