Christian Long

Sugata Mitra: Shows How Kids Teach Themselves

In TED Talks on May 5, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Reflection by WEI-CHEN L.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Sugata Mitra:  Shows How Kids Teach Themselves

Most of the human living in the Earth have childhood; they might not remember what actually happened but they will know what they have learned. I’ve heard the kids can learn much faster than grown-up in the language area, I think it’s true. As a kid, the imagination is all over the head because kid didn’t have too much of education control the mind, so is the language. Sometimes I thought the kids are smarter than other stage’s human. We love to go back when we were kid; the kids thought they were the worst, and wanted to grow up.

The testing was easy, they put a computer with different language in the education-less village, and let the kids go try it. The kids would like to use the thing that have never saw nor use before; most the kids will do that. The hard part was actually know what were the kids trying to do to the computer. The education is to help the kids to do their interest, not lock down the kids interest; but the kids will still need the base of other area. The kids haven’t learn to much of world, the brain will let itself learn to do everything.

I still remember when I was a kid, I was curiosity on everything and I will try to figure it out. When I was a kid, I always try other way if I failed. As a kid, I never thought about what would happen if I failed and keep doing whatever I like.

I like the kids learn everthing by themself and learn it quick. I miss my childhood.

Leave a Reply

