Christian Long

Evelyn Glennie: Shows How to Listen

In TED Talks on May 10, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Reflection by ABBIE P.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Evelyn Glennie:  Shows How to Listen

This video represents something that I’ve been trying to say throughout a majority of my responses. Music is much more than something you dance to or listen to for the heck of it. It’s about the experience.

I’ve been trying to find the right words to describe it, but nothing seems effective. I’m extremely impressed with the fact that Evelyn Glennie was able to get the message across in a way that I’d never even thought of exploring. Of course, it would be challenging for me to portray that. The only thing wrong with my hearing is that it’s rather limited, because not only do I listen to my music way too loud, but I’m very selective about what I do and don’t tune into.

After watching this, I feel as if I don’t know as much about much about music as I thought I had.

Evelyn is so in touch with music because she feels it pulsing throughout her body, which all of us can do, but how many of us can have that deep of an appreciation for it when we’re still listening? Even though I know that music is more than just an appealing sound, I still judge it based off of my own opinions. I talk about how much I despise artists like Miley Cyrus on a daily basis because the lyrics show no emotion, and most of the sound is over-produced anyways. After thinking about it, who am I to say that it’s not music? If it’s so popular, it must mean something to someone out there. Maybe if I didn’t have to hear it, I could appreciate it a little more.

Even if Glennie had only performed, this video would have been astonishing. I’m sure that there are several deaf musicians out there, but that doesn’t make what they do any less remarkable. To be so connected with music that you can play and write what could be considered “good music,” is extremely impressive.

Leave a Reply

