Christian Long

Naturally 7: Beatboxes a Whole Band

In TED Talks on May 12, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Extra credit reflection by ALEX C.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Naturally 7:  Beatboxes a Whole Band

Before I begin I just want you to know that I am NOT an expert at beat boxing so things I say might be wrong, but I will give you my interpretation.

When I first saw the title I though oh cool a group of beat boxers, the type that sound more street like. Now I am not an expert at beat boxing so maybe I’m terming “street like” wrongly. To me this group gives off more of a “classical” and “trained” sound. There are a wide variety of beats ranging from weird to a more traditional beat.

The first beat boxer that walks in, has a very irregular beat, not something that I would expect to hear. The second has an even more strange beat, but yet it fits in with the first beat. The third beat is what I think that you would usually hear more often, a nice low beat versus the higher pitched first and second beats. The fourth beat reminds me of my keyboard, just like the beat boxer portrays it. the fifth beat boxer reminds me of an everyday drum set. He keeps the tempo steady with a loud low brrrmm brrmm. The sixth guy made me laugh; I thought he looked a little bit like Obama and he had a kind of quirky beat.

I thought that it was interesting how all of the beat boxers had a hand motion that went with there beat. They didn’t just beat there beat (lol) but also used hand gestures. It is as if they have to imagine their instrument in order to reproduce their sound or maybe it just adds to the visual.

It was interesting to see that besides just beat boxing they started singing as an a cappella choir. I generally connect beat boxing with rap music. I guess that shows how universal music is.

Leave a Reply

