Christian Long

Ethel: Performs “Blue Room”

In TED Talks on May 22, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Reflection by HALEY M.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Ethel:  Performs “Blue Room”

I am not very into classical music, but while listening to this performance I really enjoyed it.

I wasn’t sure if “Blue Room” was a well-known piece or known for something special, I tried to research it but I couldn’t find any information on it. When I hear classical music like this, where there are people playing the violins and cellos I think they are either very good or way off. It seems like to play these instruments it takes a lot of hard work, and tons of practice. This performance was actually very good. It was obvious they had spent lots of time rehearsing and practicing this piece of music. It was all very together and very beautiful.

The first time listening to this, it was very relaxing. It’s a very soft, settling piece of music. It also seems unique, because I have never heard anything like this. Also during my first time viewing this Ted Talk, I didn’t watch it, I just listened to it.

It’s a different experience if you close your eyes while watching or don’t pay attention to the picture, but just on what you hear than listening to the music along with the different facial expressions and body language that these performers have. The second time I watched, I paid attention to their faces and how it related to the music they were playing. They seem to be very relaxed and calm while they are playing, and also enjoying themselves. A couple of the performers are even closing their eyes as they are playing, which says that they are very comfortable with their music and also able to enjoy it as they play. It’s obvious these performers are very passionate about there work, and it shows through the music. Its always easy to see whether someone is enjoying what they are doing or not. In this case, it was very obvious they were loving every second.

Leave a Reply

