Christian Long

Bruno Bowden: Folds While Rufus Cappadocia Plays

In TED Talks on May 23, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Reflection by MICHAEL P.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Bruno Bowden: Folds While Rufus Cappadocia Plays

To be honest, I was not looking forward to this TED talk. There really is no information, story, not a whole to analyze. It is all left to interpretation.

But, at the same time, that is also what I like about it. I like the very simple, minimalist aspect of it.

The music from the electric cello, which I did not even know existed, was very interesting, unique, and strangly relaxing. I had never heard anything like this before. I thought they only had electric guitars, so I guess if nothing else, at least I learned something. It sounded old fashioned at first, but then sounded very cool and interesting. To me, the music was more important than than the oragami. Although the origami was intended to be the focus, and the music the background, to me it was the other way around. The origami acted like that thing that music programs do, with all the flashing colors. It was just something to look at. While I thing it is difficult to actually analyze the talk itself, something like this is very good at inspiring people. Something like this could act as the creative spark for just about anything to anyone.

I’m pretty certain that there was no “point” to this video. By that I mean there was not something they were trying to tell you about, there was no hidden meaning, just some unique music and origami.

This talk, and others like it, are great to inspire you to do something great.

Leave a Reply

