Christian Long

Sam Harris: Science Can Answer Moral Questions

In TED Talks on May 23, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Reflection by SARAH C.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Sam Harris:  Science Can Answer Moral Questions

I don’t think science can answer moral questions. I believe that there are many different answers to questions. It all depends in how you are raised and what you believe in. Culture also can alter ones perception of the truth and what you think is right from wrong.

I really liked the part in this TED talk when Sam Harris was talking about the problems with woman’s bodies and how in some places woman have to be covered in head to toe with clothing. I think this is wrong, But that’s only because its how I was raised and where I am from. It is some what cruel to make someone be covered in cloth when its extremely hot outside I believe. But if i grew up having to constantly be covered in clothing i probably would think it was okay. I also thought it was very interesting when he was talking about how some fathers will kill their daughters if they found out they had been raped. i don’t understand how they could do that to a loved one. but again, that has to do with how you are raised and where you are from.

Even though I don’t agree with this video, it was well organized. Sam Harris was really into the topic he was talking about. I think thats why i didnt lose intrest through out the whole video. Over all i liked this video.

Leave a Reply

