Christian Long

Sean Carroll: The Arrow of Time (Pt. 2)

In TED Talks on May 23, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Reflection by CARL K.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Sean Carroll: The Arrow of Time (Pt. 2)

Note: click the link above to see the actual video

***

In part 2 of his lecture, Sean continues to explain his theory on the arrow of time. And for those people who don’t know what that is, the arrow of time is the theory that over time, the universe will expand infinitely, due to the laws of entropy.

I want to reiterate, from my last blog, over Part 1 of Sean’s lecture, that as I find this entire concept fascinating, I also think it’s kinda boring. With a 16-year-old mindset, it’s hard to actually focus on, not 1, BUT 2, videos over time, that are both at least 25+ minutes. Not to say that I can’t focus on them, it’s just harder. Anyone who is around my age would quite agree with me, so I would insist finding bits and pieces of info, that has been viewed and then write an actual analysis.

However, in all essence, I’ll stand firm on believing that this is fascitinating, while being somewhat boring, in a respectful manner. I know this might sound contradictory, considering when one thinks an idea is fascinating they would be more inclined to learn more of the concepts behind it. While as for me, I’m just here learning to appreciate what Sean has worked on over the years.

I mean, Sean has really put a lot of thought behind this. If I was REALLY intersested in how the entire universe has been evolving, and how we can measure time, then possibly I would enjoy coming up with an anaylsis. However, I’m only here, respectfully, giving an overview of his work. So, for those who are intrigued by that of our universe and the arrow of time, please go watch his lecture. I think it’s a rieviting speech for people who just enjoy space and time.

Leave a Reply

