Christian Long

Graham Hill: Why I’m a Weekday Vegetarian

In TED Talks on May 26, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Extra credit reflection by EMMA L.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Graham Hill: Why I’m a Weekday Vegetarian

Every New Years Eve I, like many others, write down a list of New Year resolutions. Two years ago I decided that I wanted to become a vegetarian, although to my surprise it was harder than I thought it would be. I think I only lasted a week before I started to crave my chicken and steak yet I never thought of being a weekday vegetarian.

I also never had the thought of picking days where I could be a vegetarian. I had the mind set that if I could not be a full on vegetarian than I should not even try to be a part time vegetarian. One of my friends is a vegetarian and she told me that she had to gradually eat less meat as the weeks would go by.

This is how I stopped drinking soda. Every day I would drink less soda to a point where I never had the urge to drink it. I have more energy, my skin looks healthier and I have lost weight in the process. I believe if I put my mind to it, I to could become a vegetarian although I do not have to.

The saddest thing is that we all know the effects of meat. The increase of fast food is also bringing more emissions into our environment, killing more animals, and is taking away peoples’ money little by little. One can only think what would happen if every person would cut meat out of their diet once a week. People would live longer, the environment would be cleaner, and we would have more money to spend.

The only problem is commitment. It is so hard now days to stay committed to a goal because of the mindset humans have now. Anyone can start today; all it takes is some commitment.

Leave a Reply

