Christian Long

Graham Hill: Why I’m a Weekday Vegetarian

In TED Talks on May 26, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Extra credit reflection by RYAN S.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Graham Hill: Why I’m a Weekday Vegetarian

I think that the modern day vegetarian is very different than what it used to be. Now a days it’s about feeling healthier, and helping the environment. When vegetarianism first became popular, It was about not killing animals. This stance holds true to an extent but, that focus has changed, and is changing, into a healthier environment.

So to jump straight into it, is Week day Veg a good idea?

I believe so. I think that the idea is sound, but will it work? I don’t think that the idea will have any more of an effect on crowds than saying “try to eat healthily.” It’s a good idea, but it’s effects will probably be very small. Only people who were planning on changing, already would use this. No new information was supplied, and the idea isn’t crazy revolutionary enough for it to be discussed on open sourced mediums, and I doubt it will go much farther than TED.

Overall I don’t think I’ll be recommending this video to my friends. While the idea is sound, I don’t think that actually seeing the video is necessary. I do however, plan on telling my friends about week day Veg, and I think that most will be interested. I know I am.

Leave a Reply

