Christian Long

Joachim de Posada: Says, “Don’t Eat the Marshmallow Yet.”

In TED Talks on May 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Extra credit reflection by ANGELA W.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Joachim de Posada: Says, “Don’t Eat the Marshmallow Yet.”

Everyone wants to be successful, but the problem is, some people just do not know what it takes to be successful. Joachim de Posada shares an experiment with us: They take a group of 4 to 6 year olds and, one at a time, they put them in a room with a marshmallow. They say to the child, if the marshmallow is still here in 15 minutes, you will receive another marshmallow. When the professor leaves the room, he watches on a video camera what the child does. It turns out that two out of three kids ate the marshmallow. The one that did not would smell it, touch it, look at it, or walk away from it. When these kids were about 18 or 19, it was found out that the ones that did not eat the marshmallow, were successful. Many of the ones that did eat the marshmallow were not as successful.

So, what is the way to success? Self discipline.

I believe that we all truly know this, but some of us cannot put ourselves to do it. I’m not going to lie, self-discipline is hard. There are nights that I just would much rather be catching up on Glee than study for a test, but I know that in the long run, that isn’t what is best.

How do I know this? Experience.

There has been a time that I just blew off studying, to do something else that I wanted to do. I thought the test would be easy since I paid attention in class and did my homework, but it turns out, I am just not a good test taker and even if I do know a lot of the material on a test, I still need to prepare myself.

So, now you are probably wondering how I get myself to sit in my room every night and study. Go ahead and ask me.

Well, anonymous person, I have determination and desire to be successful in my life. I know that soon enough, I will be living on my own and then I will have to start paying bills and all that jazz. I know that what I want to do for my career takes a lot of work. I also know that I do not want to be grounded if I do poorly in school. My parents do help me achieve self discipline, but when it comes down to it, it is really my own choice to turn off my electronics and study for a while.

I believe every single person can be successful in their life if they learn the skills of self discipline.

Leave a Reply

