Christian Long

Sebastian Wernicke: Lies, Damn Lies, and Statistics

In TED Talks on May 26, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Extra credit reflection by RYAN S.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Sebastian Wernicke:  Lies, Damn Lies, and Statistics

I don’t get the title.

I watched this video at least 8 times, and I still don’t get it.

I assume it’s part of a movie, but it’s still kinda bothering me.

Any way back to the video. I liked it a lot. I think that his analysis of Best and worst Ted talks was very clever, yet at the same time, you got to see how he did his analysis.

I think my favorite part of the video, was when he was giving his talk he actually used some of the lines from the best and worst phrases. Right before he showed his list, he said “I will give you three examples.” and sure enough “I will give you…” was one of the key phrases he recommended. He also said when describing how long the video should be, that “you should speak as long as you can, unless you’re giving a talk that’s beautiful, ingenious, or funny.” His talk was about seven minutes long, and out of all the choices listed on his graph, I would say that his is funny more than anything. His execution was clever, and he was relatively confidant. While all the time, having the irony, of presenting how to do the best and worst ted talks at a ted event.

Over all I liked this video. It was humorous, clever, yet still, had an edge of interesting in it. I even used this video to help prepare for my Ted talk in class. I plan on recommending this video to my friends, and I think you should do the same. It might be worth watching for nothing else than to help me figure out what in the world the title means.

Leave a Reply

