Christian Long

Sxip Shirey: At the Breathing Place

In TED Talks on May 26, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Extra credit reflection by ALEX C.

Original TED page w/ speaker bio, links, comments, etc:

Sxip Shirey:  At the Breathing Place

I would like this video to be a sort of follow up to my previous blog about Benjamin Zander’s talk music and passion. Also note that my opinion on this music can be completely different from what you think because everyone will interpret it differently.

First off I have to say that this talk was very creepy/erie. The sounds close to the end were very interesting and peculiar. Sxip Shirey literally makes music by breathing into a flute, note that he is not playing it just breathing into it. It sounds almost as if he is singing in the Congo as if he were on a hunt or being chased by a jaguar. I don’t know why, but I get this vibe that it is in African song. Half way through the video it sounds like that he has moved into more of a hip hop beat, that I will get into more later on.

He then proceeds to breathe into the microphone and is joined by another lady. The way they both breathe may be seen differently by some people so I will say that viewer discretion is advised. They both breathe into the microphone causing an array of sound almost harmonizing in some places and conflicting each other in other places.

Overall it was a very interesting video. I won’t say it was amazing, but rather that it was interesting in a sense that is random.

As I scrolled down to the comments, I saw a comment linking to a YouTube video that the author claims is more Shirey-esque. He was raised in the Bronx and loves Hip Hop.

Leave a Reply

